top of page
  • Writer's pictureUP Babaylan

From Anonymous


I love my family. I know they love me too.


However, my family doesn't know that I'm gay. They're generally a liberal bunch but the LGBTIA+ community is their one huge blind spot as they’re devout Christians.


I used to think about coming out to them but my father - the same man who said he loved and supported me unconditionally - said that all gay people should burn in hell and that he'd happily kill one of us if given the chance.  


I don't believe that. I'm not ashamed to be who I am. To all my friends and generally to most people I meet, I've been frank about my sexuality. But my family is MY one huge blind spot.


I've long since resigned myself to the fact that I'll be alone forever because I'd rather hide in my own skin than lose my family.  Maybe one day that will change. Maybe one day I'll be ready to let them go.

Maybe one day I will find my own family who will truly accept me for who I am. Maybe one day I'll choose to let go and be chosen in return.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page