top of page
  • Writer's pictureUP Babaylan

To My Alpha Dad



They say my Mom wants to have a baby girl because she already has 3 boys. Then, after 3 yrs she got pregnant for the 4th time. So speculation from relatives and friends was that the baby will be a girl. In the flower month she gave birth, she had a hard time with giving birth and the pressure to have a baby girl. Ultrasound didn't exist during that time. So here comes the baby, not a girl but another baby boy. My dad felt proud cause the saga will continue.


Growing up with 3 siblings and parents who have a strong personality is difficult because you are not allowed to become soft. But, my Mom taught me everything, like the house chores. I helped her fetch water, clean the house, etc. because I felt that that made her happy due to disappointment of not having a baby girl.


Mom was an OFW and every 2 years, she comes home. She believes that we are all safe because all of us are males. So while my mom was away and my siblings played GI Joe, Voltes 5 and etc., I was there watching Sailor Moon and playing dolls. My Dad even bought me a Doll House. I had complete sets of Sweet Valley Twins books, Barbies and everything. My dad supported what I wanted. I had a beautiful childhood compared to my friends who experienced so much pain by the hands of their parents.


When I was in College, I had difficulty passing Chemistry and then my Prof said, "You can donate 10 tin cans for the environmental org in the University." Then, I said to my dad that I don't want to repeat Chemistry. My Dad bought all the tin cans in the canteen at Malacañang where he used to work in a legal office. So when my Dad brought the sack of tin cans to my class, my Prof was shocked. Fortunately, I passed.


Now, Dad is already retired and I know he is so proud of me for whatever achievements I have today. He even said one day I will get married but not in the Philippines, maybe in Australia. Although, I have to find a mate first before getting married.


Thank you, Dad. You are always the best!


From, Philpetalsp3 a furrparent and educator in QC

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page