top of page
  • Writer's pictureUP Babaylan

To all artists who are part of the community



Hello,


As a young kid, art tended to be my escape from a lot of things. So much to the point that I'd absently scribble or doodle in class and get so much flak by peers and teachers for doing it too much. I still do it though, because for me it’s about creating what I want in my own terms. I didn't really have much exposure to content made by and for the community until I was 12, and more so when I saw the rise of many LGBTQ+ creators sharing their work to people online. It's uplifting and wholesome seeing fellow members give rise to a community for us to interact and share.


That’s the beauty in art. Whether it be film, animation, songs, or drawings, it’s a medium where we can express ourselves and make the content we want. It's comforting to know that our community and our voices are growing bigger year by year because of art and the people who lovingly made them.


I'd like to say thanks to those artists for being the door to a community I was trying to find. You've inspired a lot of young people to create too.


To lgbtq artists, both young and old, closeted or out, keep doing what you do for yourselves. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Art will always be a medium for tiny voices to express what they usually cannot. Don't let anyone tell you what you can and can't do. You abide by your own rules. The only limitations are your imagination. Keep doing what you love. You have a community that has your back.


From a teenage lesbian artist with no identity whatsoever 👽


10 views0 comments
bottom of page